CRIMES A-Z

Garscin Law, Criminal defense, DUI Attorney, lawyer. Sex crimes, felony. Abogado Criminal, DUI. FREE

ASSAULT LAWS IN COLORADO

In Colorado Assault generally  is defined as knowingly or recklessly  causing bodily injury to another person. 

Battery (identified as  “menacing” in some states) happens when a person knowingly causes a person to fear imminent  serious bodily injury through threat or physical action.

Assault is classified as follows: 

 

First-degree assault: 

A person intentionally causes serious bodily injury, often by use or threat of use of a deadly weapon.  It is often considered a crime of violence and it is a felony.  

Penalties for first-degree assault in Colorado: Could include up to 32 years in prison and fine of up to $750,000. 


Second-degree assault

A person recklessly causes serious bodily injury to another person by means of a  deadly weapon, or intentionally causes serious  bodily injury to another person. It is often considered a crime of violence and it is a felony.  

Penalties for second-degree assault in Colorado: Could include up to 16 years in prison and a fine of up to $500,000. 


Third-degree assault

Occurs when a person knowingly, recklessly, or through criminal  negligence causes bodily injury to another person by means of a deadly  weapon. It is consider a class 1 misdemeanor. 

Penalties for third-degree assault in Colorado: Could include up to 2 years in jail and a fine of up to $5,000.  


FOR HELP- Schedule a free consultation!

If you or someone you love has been charged with a crime in Colorado, contact one of our experienced Attorneys at (303) 205-8495.  Or, schedule a free consultation by clicking the link below. 

ATTEMPTED MURDER LAWS IN COLORADO

In Colorado, attempted  murder is defined as the failed attempt to kill another person. This crime involves both an action and an  intent. 


If the steps are performed under circumstances showing extreme indifference to the value of human life, you commit attempted first degree-murder. Otherwise, it is considered attempted murder in the second-degree. 


Penalties for attempted murder second-degree in Colorado: Could include up to 10-32 years in prison in addition to mandatory parole, and a fine of up to $750,000.   


Penalties for attempted murder first-degree in Colorado: Could include up to 16-48 years in prison in addition to mandatory parole,  and a fine of up to  $1,000,000.   

 

FOR HELP- Schedule a free consultation!

If you or someone you love has been charged with a crime in Colorado, contact one of our experienced Attorneys at (303) 205-8495.  Or, schedule a free consultation by clicking the link below. 

DUI LAWS IN COLORADO

There are different crimes involved with impaired driving:


1. DUI. Driving a vehicle while under the influence of alcohol, drugs, or a combination of alcohol and drugs is known as “DUI.”

2. DWAI. Driving a vehicle while “ability impaired” by alcohol, drugs, or a combination of alcohol and drugs is referred to as “DWAI.”  

Penalties for a DWAI in Colorado: Could include up to 2- 180 days in jail + a fine of up to $500 + up to 48 hours of useful public service + 8 DMV points in your license. 

3. DUI per se. Operating a vehicle with a BAC (Blood Alcohol Level) over the limit of 0.08% or more. 


Penalties for DUI charges in Colorado:  

1st Time (Misdemeanor): Up to 1 year in jail + a fine of up to $1000 + up to 96 useful public service + 12 DMV points in your license (license suspension).


2nd Time (Misdemeanor): Minimum of 10 days in jail and up to 1 year in jail + a fine of up to $1500 + up to 120 useful public service + 12 DMV points in your license (license suspension).


3rd Time (Misdemeanor): Minimum of 60 days in jail and up to 1 year in jail + a fine of up to $1500 + up to 120 useful public service + 12 DMV points in your license (license suspension).


4rd or subsequent (Felony): Minimum of 2-6 years Colorado State Prison with 3 years parole + a fine of up to $500,000. 

 

FOR HELP- Schedule a free consultation!

If you or someone you love has been charged with a crime in Colorado, contact one of our experienced Attorneys at (303) 205-8495.  Or, schedule a free consultation by clicking the link below. 


INTERNET LURING OF A CHILD - LAWS IN COLORADO

It is a felony in Colorado to communicate sexual content to a child via electronic devices, and to try to meet with the child for any purpose. 

Penalties for internet luring of a child: Could include up to 3 years in prison, and a fine of up to $100,000. 

But, if you intended to meet with the child for sexual gratification, the penalties could include up to 6 years in prison, and a fine of up to $500,000. 

If you are found guilty of this offense, you will be considered a Colorado sex offender and will have to register with the Colorado sex offender registry. 


FOR HELP- Schedule a free consultation!

If you or someone you love has been charged with a crime in Colorado, contact one of our experienced Attorneys at (303) 205-8495.  Or, schedule a free consultation by clicking the link below. 

RAPE AND SEXUAL ASSAULT LAWS IN COLORADO

In Colorado sexual assault is defined as any forced or non-consensual sex act. This is considered a felony crime.


Penalties for this crime: Could include from 2 years to life in prison. It also requires lifetime registration as as sex offender. 


FOR HELP- Schedule a free consultation!

If you or someone you love has been charged with a crime in Colorado, contact one of our experienced Attorneys at (303) 205-8495.  Or, schedule a free consultation by clicking the link below.